Winners of Celebrate Aberdeen Awards 2023 announced

Celebrate Aberdeen award winners 2023

SOME outstanding examples of third sector organisations, their staff, volunteers and supporters had their achievements recognised at the fourth annual Celebrate Aberdeen Awards at the weekend.

The event at the Chester Hotel was attended by more than 300 people who gathered together to recognise and celebrate the enormous contribution which charities, social enterprises, and voluntary groups and all the individuals who work for and support them make to the wider society.

Twenty-four finalists had been shortlisted for the eight award categories with the winners announced on the night. The award winners were chosen by a judging panel comprising 24 representatives from the business community and local media. The winners represented a broad spectrum of organisations both large and small.

CFINE was named Large Organisation of the Year with the award for Small Organisation of the Year going to Fersands and Fountain SCIO. Individual awards went to Shannon Dalgarno, AFC Community Trust (Young Supporter of the Year); Shelly Adams, NSPCC – Childline (Fundraiser of the Year); Marion Douglas, AFC Community Trust (Volunteer of the Year); and Anne Bone (Heart of the Community).

Team of the Year went to Archway while SHMU picked up the award for Campaign of the Year for its Challenge Poverty Week

“This is always a special night for so many reasons,” said Celebrate Aberdeen volunteer and board member Susan Crighton. “It is humbling to hear of the good work which goes on right across the region, and the stories of those who make that happen. The contribution which the third sector makes to thousands of lives cannot be overestimated. Without that life would be very much harder and more challenging for the people they support.

“The judges had an extremely hard job selecting finalists from the many wonderful nominations we received and an even harder job picking just one winner in each category. Every single winner and finalist deserved their place at the event and this awards ceremony is a way of thanking them and celebrating with them.” 

Celebrate Aberdeen is planned and run entirely by volunteers. In 2021, the work they do to promote the achievements of others was recognised when the Celebrate Aberdeen team was awarded the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service.

The Celebrate Aberdeen Parade, which this year took place on August 26, and the awards ceremony are only possible thanks to the support they receive from the business community across all sectors. Thanks to that support, every shortlisted finalist hosted their own table completely free of charge.

“A huge thanks goes to all our Celebrate Aberdeen supporters. We could not do this without them. Particular thanks though go to our principal sponsors CNOOC International, CNR International and Aberdeen Inspired. Without them this just wouldn’t happen,” said Susan.

The 2023 winners are:

  • Young Supporter of the Year – Shannon Dalgarno, Aberdeen FC Community Trust
  • Fundraiser of the Year – Shelly Adams, NSPCC – Childline
  • Volunteer of the Year – Marion Douglas, Aberdeen FC Community Trust
  • Heart of the Community – Anne Bone
  • Small Organisation of the Year – Fersands and Fountain SCIO
  • Large Organisation of the Year – CFINE
  • Campaign of the Year – Challenge Poverty Week, SHMU
  • Team of the Year – Archway

The Latest Stories

Investment fuels Aurora Avionics’ ascent
Scotland leads the way in starting children’s savings
Scottish tour operator on the road to growth thanks to £2m funding
Instrument company announces new CEO